Provost Publications Awards

Purpose for the Awards

The awards were introduced on the initiative of Professor Samuel Agyei-Mensah (Provost) in 2015. They are an attempt to strengthen and support the research culture within the College of Humanities. It is also to allow young researchers the opportunity to showcase their work.
The awards are in three (3) categories – Doctoral, Early Career, Mid-Career. Each award winner receives a cedi equivalent of $1,000.00, a citation and a plaque. The winner may use the prize money for his/her research or to participate in a conference.
The announcement for the award is usually made in February.

Eligibility Criteria
Doctoral students
: Registered PhD candidates within the College of Humanities, University of Ghana, recognized prior to the date of application submission.
Early career faculty: Lecturers and Research Fellows affiliated with all units of the College of Humanities, who have been in the service of the University of Ghana, Legon, for not more than five years prior to the date of submission of the application.
Mid-career faculty: Senior Lecturers and Senior Research Fellows and Associate Professors in the College of the Humanities who have been in the service of the University of Ghana for a total of not more than ten years.

Criteria for the Award
The organisation and determination of the award winners for the Provost Publications Award is undertaken by the College Research Board.
The Board sets up a sub-committee chaired by a senior member of Professorial rank.
Publications received are sent to three Assessors in cognate departments of the author. The Assessor’s grade the publications based on the following award criteria.
Originality of contribution to knowledge with an emphasis on the paper’s innovativeness in one or more of; (i) theoretical development, (ii) empirical results or, (iii) policy development
Quality of Argument:
Quality of argument incorporating; (i) critical analysis of concepts, theories and findings, and (ii) consistency and coherency of debate
Clear positioning of paper in existing international literature with a conclusion(s) that is both convincing and of significant potential
Writing style:
Quality of writing style in term of accuracy, clarity, readability, and organisation of the paper.

Winners of the Award
The Award Winners receive their prizes on the first day of the Annual College Conference usually held in July.  The winners of the 2015 and 2016 editions of the award are as follows:

2015 Award Winners

Doctoral Student:
Mrs Fidelia A. A. Dake (PhD Candidate) of the Regional Institute for Population Studies for her journal article ‘Sociodemographic correlates of obesity among Ghanaian women – Public Health Nutrition: 14(7) 1285-1299
Early Career Faculty
Dr. Peace Medie (Research Fellow) of the Legon Centre for International Affairs and Diplomacy for her journal article ‘Fighting Gender-Based violence: The Women’s Movement and the enforcement of Rape law in Liberia. African Affairs, 112/448, 377-397

Mid-Career Faculty
Dr. Poku Adusei (Senior Lecturer) of the School of Law for his book ‘Patenting of Pharmaceuticals and Development in Sub-Saharan Africa: Laws, Institutions, Policies and Politics. Springer Heidelberg, New York. 2013

2016 Award Winners
Doctoral Student:
Mr. Ernest Bagson(PhD candidate) Institute of Statistical, Social and Economic Research (ISSER), for his article, ‘’Securing the Urban Space: On Whose Terms? Insight from Poverty Crime Baseline Survey in Tamale, Ghana ’’ Ghana Journal of Geography Vol 8 No 1, 124-147 2016 (Special Issue)
Early Career Faculty
Dr. Obàdélé Kambon (Research Fellow, Institute of African Studies for his journal article: ‘’Theory of Endogenous and Exogenous Motivation in L2 Migration” in Per Linguam, 31(2) 2015’’